nah, the DQ for signing an incorrect scorecard is often the right rule.
k, finally, my last post on this, it's time to watch some good golf!!
What should have happened: before signing his card, rules dudes talk with him, which they say happened. But a clear discussion would have led to Tiger saying what he said on TV, he made an honest mistake, mixing up the options in Rule 26. He would have added two, signed the card, it would have been a non-issue.
Instead, the tournament folks forgot to ask him which option he was using. Then, when it came up on TV, they crumpled, pulling out the new Rule 33-7. Which allowed them to not DQ him.
Unless you actually read the Rule: "However, if the Committee is satisfied that the competitor could not reasonably have known or discovered the facts resulting in his breach of the Rules, it would be justified under Rule 33-7 in waiving the disqualification penalty prescribed by Rule 6-6d." Aw crap, he had known and discovered the facts on his bad drop! He knew them from the second he stepped back two yards.
Tiger broke Rule 26, the Masters royalty broke Rule 33, and if Tiger wanted to show, at least and maybe only to me, that he cares about the integrity of the game more than his personal fortunes, he should have withdrawn.
now...let's go Kuch!!!!

Bookmarks